Posted in art school life

Finals Approaching, Again

Hey everyone! There’s just 6 days left of classes before spring break! And, because SCAD’s on a quarter system, that means Finals Hell is in full swing now. I’ve started working on my color theory final project already (although mercifully it’s not weighted any more than the other 3 projects we’ve done for that class), got my life drawing final sketch approved by my professor, and submitted the previsualization homework for my CMPA final.

SCAD Life Update: I applied to be a student ambassador, I don’t know if I’m gonna get it but I had an interview and hopefully it went okay!

The internet’s been acting up all weekend, tech support is working on it, we are suffering.

SCAD Day was today and there were many potential students. So many.

Color Theory Final progress: Removal tape is my friend.

We had to make sketches from memory of a favorite place and then turn that into a non-objective design we could use to demonstrate the Bezold effect. We have to make a color scheme with 1 bright color and 3 dull colors, and repeat the same design with all four colors changing position in the design to see how that affects the look of the design as a whole. I picked the used bookstore I worked in last year.

img_20170304_201242532
the final itself, as it looks right now
img_20170304_202010357
thumbnails, sketches, ideas

Life Drawing: This is my sketch for the final, a scene from the story of Medea which I read in AP Lit last year.

img_20170304_201930857

I’m going to try and combine charcoal and pastel and do a limited color sort of thing. Hopefully I can pull it off!

Life drawing in class project:

IMG_20170301_155654441_BURST000_COVER.jpg

Life drawing sketchbook: portrait heads

IMG_20170304_195636.jpg

And that’s about all I have time for today. Random fun things: I impulse bought a plane ticket to go back home for a weekend and hit up MOCCA Fest in April, since I’m not going home for spring break. So that’ll be fun. I’m staying in Atlanta for spring break and hopefully going up to Nashville for a weekend to see my best friend since 3rd grade.

Reading: I recently read Rolling Blackouts by Sarah Glidden, because I really liked How to Understand Israel in 60 Days or Less. I liked it. I feel like it was a bit more wordy than it really needed to be, but it was really interesting. Comics nonfiction and journalism fascinates me, and I want to try making something like that someday.

I’m also currently reading through the Crazy Rich Asians trilogy but that’s just for funsies.

now I have to go actually start this drawing final hahaha why did I let myself put it off so much.

Author:

cartoonist, illustrator, reader, writer. SCAD 2020

Leave a comment