Posted in art school life, comic reviews

What I did during Spring Break

Spring quarter starts tomorrow! With that, I’m ready to recap how I spent my break.

The first few days I mostly sat in my room and worked on a comic. I’m adapting a book I liked as a kid into a webcomic format, because that seemed like a good idea at the time. You can read what I’ve got so far here. 

I saw Lego Batman with a friend, and it was really fun. My grandparents came and took me to do touristy things I didn’t have time for during the quarter. We went to the aquarium, stone mountain, the botanical garden, the civil rights museum, the art museum, a bookstore I had heard about at a con last year, and finally to Ruby Falls in Tennessee and Vanderbilt University to see my best friend from high school. Here’s a random collection of photographs from these trips.IMG_20170321_145103308.jpgIMG_20170320_163813854_HDR.jpgIMG_20170320_113825657.jpg

IMG_20170323_142338768.jpgIMG_20170324_132913383.jpg

book reviews! I read a lot of books this break, and I want to talk about all of them. Here’s most of the books I bought at Little Shop of Stories, a super cute bookstore in Decatur focused on children’s books and graphic novels (aka my two true loves)IMG_20170319_192141720.jpg

Every Heart a Doorway- Oh my god, an asexual protagonist? Portal fantasy?? Feelings???? SIGN ME THE HECK UP. I heard there’s a sequel coming out next year and I am so ready for it you don’t even know.

Men Explain Things To Me- A collection of essays, which reminded me of AP Lang where I also had to read a collection of essays. These essays were good though, engaging and enlightening.

The Rest of Us Just Live Here- Books that make fun of standard YA tropes cleanse my soul and water my crops. I love this book. I love the premise of this book. Everyone with even a passing interest in YA Literature should read this book.

Newsprints- I got this book because I love the author/artist’s webcomic, Saint for Rent! I love how everything seems to glow with light, and how dynamic and fluid the characters and their movements are, and how tight and unified the color choices seem to be. Newsprints is about a steampunk world in the midst of war, and some kids delivering papers in it. There’s birds and flying and science and feelings and my favorite part was the sequel hook at the end, because that means there’s more to come.

Well, That Was Awkward- A modern, middle-school, Cyrano de Bergerac retelling. Hilarious and cute, and made me feel slightly intellectual because we watched Cyrano de Bergerac in french class in junior year and I could recognize the references. I loved the use of texting and social media to tell the story- that’s how I communicate w/my friends these days.

Books I read over break that are not pictured here:

The Cute Girls Network- a very cute sort of romance story featuring a diverse cast of wonderfully drawn girls. I kind of wish a woman had worked on it, but it was still good. Funny, and an interesting concept.

Pretty in Ink: A History of Women Artists in North American Comics- Really inspiring and beautiful. I got really into the flapper comics style of inking and hair drawing and copied a few of them in my sketchbook. Nell Brinkley is an underappreciated star. IMG_20170313_195004118_BURST000_COVER.jpg

The Gingerbread Girl- Weird, ambiguous in an annoying way, but cute and a really interesting narration style where the point of view keeps shifting.

Hot Dog Taste Test- Weird but pretty and funny. I like the bold watercolor style and I kind of want to t0 try doing something similar eventually.

Uncanny Valley High, volume 1- Funny, weird, cute, good. Will probably read the second one.

My first day of Intro to Sequential Art is TOMORROW! So, pretty excited. Yeah.

Author:

cartoonist, illustrator, reader, writer. SCAD 2020

Leave a Reply

