Posted in art school life

Life Update: Weeks 1 and 2 of Spring Quarter

So, Intro to Sequential Art. My first major class. So far it’s been. Interesting.

The very first assignment was to create a 3 page comic in 2 days. Here’s what I came up with, after changing the order of some panels in response to critique.

Not my best work.

We’re working on a 4 panel strip about a turtle who needs to cross a busy road. My turtle’s a wizard. I am not very creative when it comes to reimagining the story of a turtle crossing a road, it seems.

ddff.PNG

On Monday Jai Nitz, a comic book writer who’s written for Marvel and DC, Skyped my class and did a Q and A with us. He gave us a lot of good advice on story construction and self-marketing.

On Wednesday, my professor Pat Quinn gave us all a demonstration on inking techniques and it was REALLY IMPRESSIVE because he’s REALLY GOOD. He gave us all printed cards with other artists’ pencils so we could practice inking on them. It didn’t go very well but I tried and therefore no one should criticize me. (a joke.)C8sxlMvXsAEn6dx.jpgOn Friday, we had Editor’s Day, where Katie Kubert of Insight Comics and Sarah Gaydos of IDW came and spoke with the sequential arts kids and did portfolio reviews. I didn’t get to sign up for a portfolio review (junior standing doesn’t count if you’re only in your first sequential art class) but I did get to sit in on the Q and A section. Katie brought her dog Zelda which was awesome. I love Zelda. Look at that majestic beast.

C80L-gMXcAAleR3.jpg

The Q and A basically boiled down to: post your art on social media and respond to emails in a timely manner. Both of which are things I already do, so, cool.

My other classes so far have been pretty okay. Art History’s mostly review so far,  my professor’s very opinionated and it’s funny and reminds me of AP Art History in high school (BEST CLASS.)  3D Design we’re working with wire. Wire is stabby and difficult, but I made a small model of my sculpture out of it and it looks pretty okay I think. It’s a hanging in the round sculpture though, so I can’t get a good pic of it. The only place I can hang it from has a busy background it doesn’t show up clearly against.

The Connector’s editor board changed completely from the last meeting I attended, so that was weird. I’m participating in the Art Throwdown at Piedmont Park tomorrow with the Marksmen club, so that will be fun! I’ll edit this post after the event to show the work I make there. I’ll be in the face to face drawing challenge and the plein aire challenge, both of which should be fun.

I’m also doing the 100 days project! My project for this year is to draw 100 literary characters from things I’ve read. I’m trying to pick characters from a variety of books and genres, with very different designs.

Here are the drawings I’ve made for the first five days.

tumblr_onx2k60wfg1t7nfyno1_1280 (1).jpg

tumblr_ony997dpEa1qhn9hko1_1280.jpgtumblr_onzvthvzLD1t7nfyno1_1280.jpgtumblr_oo2hedQguQ1t7nfyno1_1280.jpgtumblr_oo4eeja5mv1t7nfyno1_1280.jpg

I also drew this and I’m super proud of it. It’s the vocaloid Gumi Megpoid, in a style inspired by Alphonse Mucha, one of my favorite artists of all time. This took a lot longer than I’m used to working on one piece, and had a lot more attention devoted to the lineart and color choices. Generally just pushed myself harder than usual with it.

gumin.png

Author:

cartoonist, illustrator, reader, writer. SCAD 2020

Leave a Reply

