Posted in art school life

Week 4 : too much work and it’s all self-imposed

I turned in my wire project for 3D Design and got a pretty good grade on it!

I also took my first art history test. I missed 2 short answer questions out of 75, and the essay questions haven’t been graded yet but I think I did pretty well.

I signed up to work on two senior films, doing cleanup on one and coloring another, and they both look really good so far. I’ve learned a lot about how to use Toon Boom Harmony and how an animated movie gets made at all. It’s been really helpful.

I’ve done a few illustrations for different Connector articles.  This is the only one that’s been posted so far.

Also! The marksmen zine I talked about earlier got printed and I’m on the first page!

IMG_20170420_143352056.jpgIMG_20170420_143345794.jpg

I’m still writing my Camp Nanowrimo novel, though with midterms approaching it’s getting harder to find the time to hit the word count every day. I’m also still doing the 100 days project, which is a bit easier.

I was feeling kind of down about my drawing skills recently, but then my friend Ingrid sent me a link to this awesome video on Iterative Drawing, and it helped a lot.

Reading: I checked out Marbles: Mania, Depression, Michelangelo and Me by Ellen Forney and it was pretty interesting. Very informative and personal. She incorporates pages from her sketchbook from her depressive phases that really show the reader what it felt like for her then, and every page feels real and immediate.

School stuff: I went to the Flower Power Ball, which was kind of boring but I got to sacrifice peeps to the Peep Lord, and then Footprint, the earth day fair, where I got to make a flower crown. I also went to my first student ambassador meeting and learned about what I’ll be doing with the ambassadors next school year. The student ambassador meeting ended with an easter egg hunt, which was nice.

IMG_20170420_205705566.jpgIMG_20170421_135621762.jpgIMG_20170421_130508413.jpg

I also got a lot of free popsicles and bought myself a Unicorn Frappucino. I didn’t like it very much but it was pretty.

Oh! Also! I submitted a doodle to the Red Bull Doodle Contest! I have no idea if it’s going to even come close to winning or not, because I just got the submission form one day and drew the thing and then stuck it on the submission wall without doing any research on the contest whatsoever, but apparently starting Tuesday there’ll be an open voting thing where all of you should go and vote for my drawing.

IMG_20170421_160220795.jpg

 

 

Author:

cartoonist, illustrator, reader, writer. SCAD 2020

Leave a Reply

