Posted in art school life, comic reviews

HerCampus Sketch Crawl Exhibition and other fun things

Okay so, last Sunday I joined the HerCampus sketch crawl trip to the Atlanta Zoo, and did some drawings. I submitted one of those drawings to the Sketch in the City show HerCampus held yesterday, and it was really nice! It was one of their favorite pieces of the night, and they even featured it on their instagram account!

 

On Friday, Marksmen had a combined meeting with the improv club where we drew the improv kids while they played funny games. It was really fun and I got some great gestures.

IMG_20170513_224432325.jpg

Besides that, there’s new graffiti on the side of the Spring House dorm. It looks super cool. I don’t really know why it’s there now, but it is and it looks great.IMG_20170513_122344773.jpg

Reading: I stayed up late last night catching up with Shimanami Tasogare and, OH MY GOD, WORDS CANNOT DESCRIBE HOW MUCH I /LOVE/ THIS MANGA!!!

Image result for shimanami tasogare

First of all, even if you’re not a member of the lgbt community desperate for representation, you have to admire the art. It’s gorgeous. Every panel is worthy of being framed. It has this lovely magical realism element to it that makes the world of Shimanami come alive.

The story follows a high school student coming to terms with his identity and finding a place he belongs. He joins a sort of club for renovating abandoned houses in the area that doubles as the nexus for the local LGBT community, and there’s a lot of discussion of homophobia, both internalized and from the character’s friends and families. It’s really emotional and resonated with me hardcore. I caught up in like an hour and now I can’t wait for the next update, and I need everyone I know to read this immediately and then talk about it with me. If you need more information here is a great review of it I just found that goes into way more depth.

Also, here are this weeks Mermay drawings!

The may 11 drawing was of my bff Margarita, because it was also her birthday that day. I also drew her a portrait. We became friends in freshman year of high school when we were in the same French and Bio classes and also joined the same nerd club (academic decathlon) and now we’re bffsies 4evers. She’s great.

margarita

I also illustrated an article for The Connector a few weeks ago and it finally went up today!

I’ve also been drawing a lot of fanart for Tanya Grotter, the Russian children’s series of books that was originally supposed to be a parody of Harry Potter and then immediately went way, way off the rails. It’s really inventive and really funny and really fun, and I’ve been rereading the books lately and remembering how much I loved them as a kid, and how interesting these characters and the situations they end up in are. So I’ve been drawing them. A lot.

The goth girl is Tanya’s bitchy roommate she’s the worst and I love her.  She is literally ebony dark’ness dementia raven way’s life goals. Her name’s anya but she named herself coffinya cryptova and everyone just goes with it including the teachers. She’s super popular because she accidentally scored a goal in a game of dragonball, she’s tall and pretty and has different colored eyes and does everything by magic and HATES the protagonist, but not in an obsessive “will actively do things to hurt you” kinda way they mostly just sass each other amusingly. In the second image she’s paying a mafia cupid to shoot this rich famous british boy full of love arrows to make him fall in love with her but she doesn’t actually care about him she just wants his bank account and fame. In third image tanya’s annoyed w/her so she casts a spell that makes coffinya’s pet skeleton come to life and start dancing w/her. She’s so funny, so overdramatic, so active, she’s my favorite.

Don’t forget to check my instagram @mashazart for updates on my 100 days project, which is still going strong!

Author:

cartoonist, illustrator, reader, writer. SCAD 2020

Leave a Reply

