Posted in art school life

IT’S THE FINAL COUNTDOWN

I only have two! more! weeks! AND THEN I AM FREE I CAN’T WAIT

The third floor’s blocked off until 4:30 today because of the set up for the fashion showcase coming up so I can’t work on my comic for class which is fine because I didn’t really feel like it anyway #rebel

So, this past week has been…pretty lowkey really. Mermay. 100 Days drawings. Class. I sent in a pitch to The Nib but I don’t know if they’ll take it. Oh! I’m also the new Student Liaison for the Marksmen Drawing Club here! This means I’ll be responsible for communicating with representatives from other student clubs as well as contacting other colleges and things for events.

In 3-D Design, our last assignment was to create a wearable piece of art. It can be functional or conceptual. I chose to go for conceptual, and I created a visual representation of how my social anxiety physically prevents me from going out and being social by writing out my negative thoughts using a 3D pen and then wrapping those plastic sentences around a dress in a way that would limit my movement if I were to put it on. I had to sew each strand on with this awful clear string, it was the worst experience, never again. I moved that weirdly-placed bottom strand up after I took the photo.

Anyway everything about that was terrible.

For Intro to Sequential Art, I’m doing a Critical Analysis of one of my favorite webcomics, Octopus Pie. I’m really excited for the presentation and I wrote a 1500 word essay about how great it is, like a nerd. No one is surprised.

Art History is Art History. Our research paper’s due soon. I don’t want to think about it.

Non-School Stuff: I’m going to Momocon next Sunday!

Samurai Jack ended yesterday. I think the ending was very predictable, and the fact that I could see it coming five minutes away took away some of the emotional impact. I also don’t think Jack and Ashi’s relationship was built up very well. But Ashi’s cute and I’d still die for her.

SPEAKING OF TV SHOWS, Master of None season 2 is absolutely a masterpiece that speaks to every fiber of my being and I don’t need to go on and on about how great it is, because every major news publication has already done that for me, but trust me, it’s great, watch it.

Here’s my last week of Mermays.

Here’s an illustration I did for the connector!

Also, I put up a new design on Redbubble! Check it out! There’s been a lot of drama about what kind of fanfiction should be allowed to be written lately, especially in the Yuri on Ice fandom, so I thought, “What happened to ‘Don’t like, Don’t read?'” and then I made it a shirt.

dontlikedontread

I also drew myself a new Twitter header! Follow me @mashazart for basically the same content, but in real time and in 140-character bursts!

twitterheader.png

And yesterday I drew this Puella Magi Madoka Magica fanart, because I still love that show.

goooorls

Author:

cartoonist, illustrator, reader, writer. SCAD 2020

Leave a Reply

