Posted in art school life, comic reviews, study abroad

Hong Kong Week 2

I feel like every week is more packed with things to do than the last. Taking two studio classes was A Mistake.

First off, last Sunday I went to Causeway Bay with Ingrid! It was fun. We went to a Ghibli store and a lot of other places too but the Ghibli store stands out because I got to stand in a cat bus for a photo op. I bought a LOT of washi tape and five pairs of socks. Very cute socks.

Image may contain: 1 person, smiling, car and outdoor

Monday was critique for travel portfolio and new assignment day for comics, so basically a normal day. Crit went well.

For Travel Portfolio, on Tuesday we went out to the IFC mall and then went to the monetary museum on the 55th floor to draw the city from a high vantage point. It was pretty fun. I’ve been to a lot of fancy malls here, but the IFC mall might have been the fanciest. It kind of reminded me of an airport.

Then after all that, I went back to SCAD to meet my comics class (plus some alums who hang around because they can) to get on a bus to Mong Kok to go to Sino Centre. Sino Centre is like a 3-story mall/flea market that specializes in anime and manga merch. It’s absolutely amazing. And we got to go there on class time. And my prof treated us all to bubble tea because there were like 5 people on this trip. People rent out these cubes and fill them with things they want to sell and then the shopkeeper sells them and gives the money to whoever put the items there in the first place.

I bought a Haikyuu charm and a Yuri!!! on Ice charm, because I’m weak. Everyone keeps telling me stuff because I’m the only one in the class who’s not a native HKer and I’ve never been to Sino Centre before. One of the alums freelanced for Minecraft for years. She told me a lot about the history of BL manga and how it’s a genre popular with girls who like girls because it allows them to explore romantic attraction without participating in it.

Wednesday my roommate took me swing dancing again. It was in the basement of a fancy building in Central this time, at an Italian restaurant, and they were offering free beginner lessons, which was cool.

Thursday we climbed the hill behind SCAD to do more drawing for travel portfolio, but this time outside, in the heat, for half an hour. My classmate had bug spray for everyone, which was a help, but like. IT WAS STILL, SO HOT.

I’m making slow progress on my watercolor Finished Piece for this assignment. I hate watercolor and architecture and everything. It sucks.

Friday was kind of a nothing day, really. I went to SCAD to work on my comic a bit, and I wanted to print some photos in color for my travel drawing sketchbook, but I couldn’t find a functional color printer.

Saturday I met up with Ingrid again! We walked around the midlevels for a bit, then went to her house and played with her dogs. She has 7 amazing poodles.

We took the ferry from Central over to TST. TST is basically Times Square, NYC, except even more crowded. Not the most fun, but still a new experience!

I also met a sequential arts professor from Savannah, here to visit his wife, who also works at SCAD apparently. That was interesting.

Recent reading: Bakuman, still. Ran through the 11 volumes in the library.

I read a comic in French! Kylooe tome 2, by Little Thunder who’s an HK native. It was really pretty, but felt kind of hopeless near the end.

Image result for kylooe

Ingrid let me borrow this amazing adaptation of the Great Gatsby by Nicki Greenberg, which reimagines Gatsby as a seahorse in the pages of an old scrapbook. It gives this classic story such a cool surreal feeling. I enjoyed it a lot.

Image result for the great gatsby greenberg

Yesterday was also the 20th anniversary of the handover of Hong Kong from Britain to China, but I decided to skip the crowds and the traffic in favor of going home and getting some work done.

Today I’ve been doing homework and writing fanfiction all day. And that’s basically it!

Author:

cartoonist, illustrator, reader, writer. SCAD 2020

Leave a Reply

