Posted in art school life, comic reviews, study abroad

Hong Kong Week 4

Well, for travel portfolio, crit was Wednesday, and then Thursday we went to Monkey Mountain to draw monkeys and take reference photos for our last topic, which is NATURE.

The monkeys were evil. And there were so many, like, we sat down at this rest area and there were literally 8 of them just walking around looking for a fight.

that’s my professor in the background of the last one haha

After that, for comics class, we had critique of our character designs/development.

Then Friday, we went to the botanical/zoological gardens for drawing of nature things. I can’t believe these are free to visit here, in the states a place like that would’ve been like $30 USD to enter at least. It was awesome.

Then my roommate and I watched some SCAD kids lose at soccer to a bunch of old men, and wandered around the Dragon Center until it was time to leave for swing dancing.

Friday night was my last Friday night swing dancing, but it was fun and I had a good time.

Saturday I went to Mong Kok to buy some souvenirs for my family. I learned I cannot haggle. I am as assertive as a salted slug. I probably paid too much money for the things I obtained. But then I got to drown my sorrows in Ten Ren bubble tea which is supposed to be The Best so it was fine really.

After that me and my roommate met up with a swing dancing friend for cheap and delicious seafood! It was extremely delicious. And then we got milk pudding for dessert and wandered around the Causeway Bay area. Very fun, despite some rain that happened.

And then today, I met up with Ingrid again to go to PMQ and wander around a bit. We had a very nice lunch at a very cute cafe and saw some very cool things. We also hit up the antiques street, which was so cool I love antiques.

I finally finished my 100 literary characters! check #100literarycharacters on instagram for the full array.

What else? Here’s a sketchbook page for travel drawing.

Reading list: read Seconds by Bryan Lee O’Malley, which was interesting, but not my favorite thing by him. Also read Filmish, a graphic nonfiction work explaining film theory and criticism, which was really interesting and brought several movies to my attention that I hadn’t heard of before but want to watch now. The art style was too similar to Understanding Comics, though, and it threw me off a little.

Also read 17776 which I really like, it’s like homestuck but short and self-contained and SATISFYING. I’ve sent links to all my friends. I’m very excited about it because it’s a thing that will definitely appeal to my friends from high school, unlike volleyball anime and figure skating anime, which appeals more to my art school friends. I miss geeking out over homestuck with people I’ve known for half my life.

That’s about it, I guess. I’m going to japan late Friday night. It’s surreal, I still can’t really believe it. Man.

Author:

cartoonist, illustrator, reader, writer. SCAD 2020

Leave a Reply

