Posted in study abroad

Japan Week 2!

Hi! I’ve been home for like a week now, recuperating from travel and jetlag and things.

Art stuff:
GET A PDF OF MY TRAVELOGUE COMICS FOR ZERO DOLLARS HERE! https://gumroad.com/products/YkAeO/

OR MY SKETCHBOOK HERE: https://gumroad.com/products/LtRvn/

I participated in the Yuri on Ice! Fandom Collab on Twitter! Here’s what I drew for it.

yoi2yoi4edityoi1yoi3

So I last posted right before we left for Kyoto, right? Well, before we went there, we stopped by the Nirayama Reverberatory Furnace. Because we didn’t know what it was and wanted to find out.

It’s not very interesting as it turns out. Just a thing used to make iron. Industrial revolution, yay.

Kyoto was super cool! The Comic Capsule Hotel was amazing, as were the shopping streets.

The comic hotel is absolutely full of comics, with a full shelf of english-language selections. I read the first few volumes of Nana, and Natsume Yuujinchou, which were pretty cool.

We had some awesome okonomiyaki at this place.

And we walked around Gion at night a lot. It was quiet and peaceful and nice.

The next morning, I finally tried omurice! And got myself a super fancy dessert.

We walked through the shopping street, and then took a train to Fushimi-Inari. Fushimi-Inari is. Very orange. There’s over 10,000 of those vermillion gates all over the mountain. So. Many.

we went all the way up to the top of the mountain and ran into a cute cat.

By the time we started heading the down, the street vendors were closing up, but I got some really good fried tofu before we went back to the city center. We got to the river right around sunset, and it was so pretty.

We sat in a nice restaurant on the riverside, ate good food, and watched the sunset. It was very nice. Then we walked around Gion in the dark.

The next day, we went to the animate store, the shogun’s palace, and the manga museum. There’s a teahouse in the palace gardens with the best shaved ice I’ve ever tried. The palace itself has beautiful wall paintings and absolutely no furniture.

The manga museum was super cool. I’m pretty sure every volume of comics ever published in japan was in that building. It was intense. There was a special exhibition on a mangaka I’ve never heard of who draws ballet things that was so pretty, even though photos were not allowed.

I bought a haikyuu sketchbook, a set of deleter pen nibs, ink, and the first volume of gekkan shoujo nozaki-kun in English. I also started reading Assassination Classroom there. I finished AssClass when I got back to the States. IT’S REALLY GOOD!

We saw a show of traditional Kyoto/Japanese Arts at Gion Corner. It was. Interesting. … sort of.

Then we went to a temple known for its awesome nighttime lighting effects, which was really cool.

The next morning, we went to a store that sold vintage clothes from the states and I learned boy scout uniform shirts are women’s fashion items in Japan, which was interesting.

Then, Bengal Cat Cafe! They tried to eat my pens when I wanted to draw them. No automatic alt text available.Image may contain: catImage may contain: one or more people, people sitting and table

After that we went to Kinkaku-ji. It was very shiny and so, so hot outside. 

Unsurprisingly, gold doesn’t taste like anything. 

We checked into our second hostel, which did not have comics but did have a ~spa~ thing in its basement and also looked very nice. Then there was a small festival on the riverbank, so we checked it out. I got a cool wall scroll. 

Starbucks in Japan has a limited menu item called the honey tea frappucino and it was so good and I’m so mad at american starbucks for not even offering this to me.

The next day, we went all the way to Nara. A deer tried to eat my fan. These things are ruthless if they think they’ll get crackers out of people. 

Nara has a cool museum of Buddhist art we ended up going to. It was nice and air conditioned. No photos inside, of course. But I did some sketches.


Then we went to see a large buddha sculpture. It was very large. 
I pet a deer.

The next morning, we checked out the Yayoi Kusama exhibit at the art museum, and then made our way to Tokyo.

In Tokyo, we went to Ikebukuro to check out the 9-story animate store. There was a lot of merch.

Then we went to this super cute cafe with zodiac themed parfaits. I got a Libra one and it was perfect. 

We walked around for a while, then went back to the hostel and just relaxed. For dinner, we found a chinese restaurant with no english menu and blurry pictures. We ordered french fries by accident, but they were really good, and the food was really good too. 

The next day, my last in Japan, we went to the Museum of Modern Art in Tokyo. Their collection’s amazing, and whoever wrote the description for each piece deserves an award. 

I had a good time.

I watched 4 movies on the flight home- Trolls, Pariah, the 100th Love With You, and Let’s Go Jets! (the last two movies I watched because the kid next to me was watching them and they looked interesting. Then the kid put the minions on and I realized he did not actually have good taste.) The 100th Love With You is so unnecessarily sad but I love the conceit of a time-travel record player thing a lot.

Anyway, now I’m home, chilling. Writing fanfiction. I drew some stuff in Princeton yesterday. My current tablet’s unusable, so I’m getting a new one soon. I go back to college in two weeks. I bought a bunch of books recently!

Volume 2 of Kase-san was cute and sweet and good.
Hostage by Guy Delisle was none of those things but was very powerful and good anyway.
Papergirls volume 3 was great, of course.
Manga: Theory and Practice by Araki-sensei is actually really clear and informative and I would recommend it to anyone who creates narrative works, manga or otherwise.

That’s pretty much it, I guess.

Author:

cartoonist, illustrator, reader, writer. SCAD 2020

Leave a Reply

